XXIV World Congress
International Society for Heart Research

12–15 June 2022 • Berlin, Germany

Congress Details

Richard J Bing Young Investigator Award

The International Society for Heart Research (ISHR) is seeking applications for a distinguished award of international importance for recognizing outstanding young scientists:  The Richard J Bing Young Investigator Award.  The monetary prize is $1,500 for the winner of the Richard J Bing Award and $1,000 for 3 runner-up Finalists.  This high-profile recognition will be presented at the XXIV ISHR World Congress in Berlin, Germany, June 12-15, 2022.  The Winner and Finalists will be announced on the ISHR website and in Heart News and Views (the newsletter of the ISHR).

Full details of this award, including a list of previous recipients and relevant guidelines, is provided on the ISHR web pages at https://ishr.site-ym.com/?page=BingCriteriaThe guidelines should be consulted before preparing any application.

Richard J. Bing Young Investigator Award

  • The purpose of this Award is to recognize outstanding research endeavors by new investigators and to encourage continued cardiovascular research careers.
  • Candidates must be active members (or have applied for membership) of the ISHR at the time of application.
  • Candidates must be either graduate students or have received their PhD (or equivalent) less than 8 years prior to the opening day of the World Congress.  Allowance will be made for career breaks.  It is the responsibility of the candidate and supervisor to justify the degree of disruption to the career.  
  • Four finalists will present their work at the XXIV ISHR World Congress.
  • The deadline for receipt of applications is March 15, 2022.


As detailed in the relevant guidelines on the ISHR web site, all application materials should be provided in electronic format, as a SINGLE PDF file either via email or on a flash driveIf you do not get a confirming e-mail within one week, please send a follow up inquiry without the attached files.

Applications should be submitted (by email, mail/airmail or courier) to BOTH:

Dr Lucie Carrier
Chair – Bing Award Selection Committee
Institute of Experimental Pharmacology and Toxicology
University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf
Martinistraβe 52
20246 Hamburg
Tel: +45 40-7410-57208
Email: l.carrier@uke.de


Dr Leslie Anderson Lobaugh
ISHR Executive Secretary
PO Box 52643
Durham, NC   27717-2643
Tel: (919) 493-4418
Email: llobaugh@ishrworld.org